Tags

, , , ,

Image

When I first arrived in Mexico, I received an email from a sweet friend. She told me she was praying for me, and then she said, “I think the good and difficult thing about anticipating something like this is you have no idea what is coming.  That is difficult because you can’t prep the way you’d probably like…but it’s good because God designed our lives to just deal with one day at a time, and trying to over-plan is usually too much for us anyway.”

I responded with a short email about how living in Mexico is good and hard so far, and things that I had been learning but conveniently sidestepped God’s part to play in my time here. I hadn’t spent much time considering God since I arrived and I was feeling a little overwhelmed. At the end of that day, I decided I should probably spend some time praying and reading my Bible and read this short prayer from the Valley of Vision:

Let me not be at my own disposal,
but rejoice that I am under the care of one
who is too wise to err,
too kind to injure,
too tender to crush.
 
Not only does this prayer ask to not be in control, it asks to rejoice in that. This is do-not-worry at a whole new level.
 
When God says that “Do not worry about tomorrow” it does not mean worry about tomorrow but fake confidence that it will be okay.
 
It does not mean recognize that there will be good things that happen sometime in the future way after what I’m worried about tomorrow.
 
It does not mean fake it til you feel it or find 100 things to be thankful for or bite your nails while you listen to Christian radio.
It means worry is sin. It means you can’t do what’s coming to you tomorrowIt means sufficient for the day is its own trouble. 
 
And it means I Am enough and I care for you better than you care for yourself. Not “I” as in Rachel, “I Am” as in Yahweh. And Yahweh is sufficient for the troubles of each day and each day that will ever come. 
 
Today in church, we read out loud together this brief commitment: 
 
La decision del compromiso: Conscientemente comprometo toda mi vida y voluntad al cuidado y control de Cristo.
The decision of commitment: I consciously commit all my life and will to the care and control of Christ.
 
I love this. All my life and will. My worries, my passions, my today, my tomorrow, my yesterday. Consciously- because surely this is an intentional and constant decision. And I can trust the care and control of Christ because he is enough. 
 
Psalm 139:8-10
 
If I ascend to heaven, you are there!
    If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
If I take the wings of the morning
    and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
even there your hand shall lead me,
    and your right hand shall hold me.
 
So as I enter into this last week before school starts, this second full week in Mexico, this new tomorrow, my prayer is that I might not be at my own disposal, but rejoice in the care of Christ, all-sufficient. I pray that you, in your comfort or discomfort, in your worry or peace, would find that Christ is enough.
