Tags

,

O Lord God, Who inhabitest eternity,Image

The heavens declare thy glory, 
The earth thy riches, 
The universe is thy temple; 
Thy presence fills immensity
Yet thou hast of thy pleasure created life, 
    and communicated happiness; 
Thou hast made me what I am, 
    and given me what I have; 
In thee I live and move and have my being; 
Thy providence has set the bounds of my habitation, 
    and wisely administers all my affairs. 
I thank thee for thy riches to me in Jesus, 
    for the unclouded revelation of him in thy Word, 
    where I behold his Person, character, grace, glory, 
    humiliation, sufferings, death, and resurrection

Give me to feel a need of his continual saviourhood
    and cry with Job, ‘I am vile’, 
    with Peter, ‘I perish’, 
    with the publican, ‘Be merciful to me, a sinner’.

Subdue in me the love of sin
Let me know the need of renovation as well as 
      of forgiveness, 
    in order to serve and enjoy thee forever.

I come to thee in the all-prevailing name of Jesus, 
    with nothing of my own to plead
    no works, no worthiness, no promises. 
I am often straying, 
    often knowingly opposing thy authority, 
    often abusing thy goodness; 
Much of my guilt arises from my religious privileges, 
    my low estimation of them, 
    my failure to use them to my advantage, 
But I am not careless of thy favour or regardless of 
    thy glory; 
Impress me deeply with a sense of thine 
    omnipresence, that thou art about my path, 
    my ways, my lying down, my end.

 

From The Valley of Vision

