Tags

, ,

by the grace of God, my family and friends are all fine (and finally all with power again) post-Sandy and post- early snow storm. not all have been so fortunate. this blog post is an account of a family who was not so fortunate. you really should read it- it is humbling and beautiful. i almost feel that i should just direct you there and stop talking 🙂

in celebration of thanks-vent (see my last post), and in homage to the beautiful family ritual from that blog post, i have been looking for God in my everyday life, seeking to find him in the details. and as i develop this habit of looking, i find that i cannot help but seeing. here is just a sampling of where i have found God this week.

i see God in the face of the difficult boy asking, “Miss H, I did good today? I was good today?”

i see God in 75 degrees and sunny in november.

i see God in grandparents who still hold hands.

i see God in every story that has ever been told.

in the sweet girl who finally has the confidence to speak audibly after nine years of silence.

in toddler giggles.

in crying together.

in foggy mornings.

in music.

in waking up on time when i forgot to set my alarm.

in sharing a meal.

in perfect timing.

 

the list goes on and on. i have it open on my computer at home and at work and add to it as i recognize the stupid mercies of the everyday are all ordained and on-purpose. i do not deserve the mercy of teaching these children made in His image. i do not deserve to wake up on time when i didn’t set my alarm. i don’t deserve 75 and sunny today. but i have received even stupid mercies because this world is filled up with God’s love and as i seek to find that again, i find that i cannot escape it.

 

lamentations 3:22-24 (the message):

God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,
    his merciful love couldn’t have dried up.
They’re created new every morning.
    How great your faithfulness!
I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).
    He’s all I’ve got left.

 

amen.

