This week has been my fall break (score one point for my school district: full week off in the beginning of October. Love it.) and a full and wonderful week it has been. I have had time to spend with friends, go for runs, enjoy the fall (hooray fall!), play with the kitten, and get a little bit ahead on work. I’ve also had time to go to the bank, post office, DMV, library, and finally get a haircut. It’s the little things in life, people. I’m finally officially a Tennessee resident (and registered to vote in this state), have a Nashville Public Library Card (and ten books checked out), and even managed to open a savings account. It felt a little bit grown up and a lot strange when the woman at the DMV took my New York license, handed me my new Tennessee one and said, “Welcome to Tennessee.” Of course, it felt really strange when I realized she’d spelled my last name wrong on my license, but we got that sorted out quickly. 

For those of you who aren’t lucky enough to be TN residents, here are some pictures to tell you a little bit more about the best things about life in Nashville in the fall:

Image1. Kittens learning hos to jump on top of the refrigerator. And by best, I mean worst. Nowhere is safe.

Image2. Flip flops and jeans on a walk in the park with the leaves changing color. Actual best thing about fall.

Image3. Frequent trips to my favorite park on perfect fall days.

Image4. Quiet time in the gazebo at the park.

Image5. Trail runs. It’s finally cool enough to really enjoy running outside.

Image6. Horses running by (but not close enough to attack. Let’s be real, I’m afraid of horses).

And last but not least…Image7. Leaves changing color. And they’re only going to get better from here.

 

It has been a darn close to perfect week at home and I still have two days of fun planned before I head back to the daily grind Monday. I miss my kiddos and am ready to jump back in to teaching. Hard to believe it’s almost been two months since school started, but I am loving every minute and trying not to let them slip away. 

And last but not least, here’s a song that has definitely been a major part of the soundtrack of my fall break: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGKfrgqWcv0

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

