Sorry it’s been so long. This summer was so FULL and wonderful and not at all what I expected it to be, and I just haven’t been inspired to write much lately. But since some of you get most of your updates about my life from here, here is what I’ve been doing and learning over the past two months.

This summer has been full of new. I thought I would be able to spend a relaxing summer in Nashville, nannying and moving into my new home, but that ended up not being what God had in store for me. Instead, I went home and spent about a month and a half travelling, catching up with friends, playing with baby kittens, spending time with my parents and a little time with my brothers, going to the beach, and relaxing. It was not the summer I had expected, but looking back, I can’t imagine having officially moved out of New York without spending some time saying goodbye.

After my Long Island-based adventures, I headed up to camp to work for four weeks. It was such a joy and a blessing to be able to go, and I don’t think I’ve ever been more thankful and appreciative of the opportunity to spend a few weeks at camp than I was this summer. It was a great few weeks too- I loved my girls and I loved the staff I worked with, and even though camp was really different for me this summer, I learned and grew and was so blessed by being there.

And then I turned around and spent one night on Long Island packing my things and adopting a kitten before driving down to Nashville with my Daddy (and said kitten) to move into a duplex I had barely ever seen before without any furniture except a mattress on the floor and the makings of a bed. And I started work two days after my arrival. I learned a lot about furniture shopping, kittens on long car rides, and packing and unpacking very quickly.

Since then, it’s been full steam ahead at a new job that I am still definitely learning (but thankfully haven’t REALLY started). School has begun, finally, but as I’m a pull-out teacher I don’t start having students until we finish testing all of the new students, which might be a few weeks. My classroom is finally coming together and I really love my school and the other teachers I’ve gotten to know and will be working with.

Overall, this summer was not what I expected it to be, but I am so blessed to have been able to do all of the things I found time for this summer. I’m excited about teaching and my school and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me this year! And I’ll try to update this more often 🙂

