i went to a wonderful concert last night (i love nashvegas) and the opening act had some questionable morals but some wonderful music. he prefaced this song by saying “this is my truth”. i think truth is always beautiful.

I cast aside my emptiness
Then inability to care
Throw empty words; drink because I’m scared
I force myself to fall in love
They’re so unaware
Simulate control because I’m scared

I run, I fall
Beneath it all
Love’s hard, I’m told

I’m makin’ change; I swear to me
You won’t complain about misery
What do you know about lonely?
You have everyone you need
What do you know? You’re happy
My soul is sliced with greed

I genuinely counterfeit all my conversations
Keep my truths because I’m scared
And I’ve walked with many miles of man
And I’ve talked to many faces
Refuse to understand because I’m scared
I run, I crawl – beneath it all
Life’s hard I’m told

I’m makin’ change; I swear to me
You won’t complain about misery
What do you know about lonely?
You have everyone you need
What do you know? You’re happy
My soul is sliced with greed

Well I do believe I will receive
From you, and you, and you, and you (Oh!)

I’m makin’ change; I swear to me
You can’t complain about misery
What do you know about lonely?
You have everyone you need
What do you know? You’re happy
My soul is sliced with greed

 

