i saw one of those signs outside of a church that usually have cheesy puns on them that somehow relate to God’s love the other day. it said “trust is believing that God can, faith is believing that God will.”

i’m not sure i exactly agree, but it made me think. i have been realizing lately how little faith i have.

this week is holy week- i didn’t really realize that until church this morning. this week i’ll be blogging about a few truths that i need to be reminded of this week as i prepare my heart for easter (my absolute favorite holiday). so today i’ll be talking about faith.

i trust that God can give me enough money to survive and pay for my service trip this summer and pay to put gas in my car next year, but do i have faith that he will? faith would be tithing consistently and believing that God will make ends meet.

i trust that God can give me the time and the energy to get done everything i need to get done, and that if i rely on him, he can give me the strength to do what i need to do, but do i have faith that he will? faith would be taking a weekly sabbath to focus on my relationship with God and believing that God will give me the time to get my work done on the other 6 days of the week.

i trust that God can give me love for the unloveable, for the abandoned and forgotten, for my enemies, but do i have faith that he will? faith would be taking in a hurting child and believing that through God i’ll be able to let her go back to her forever home someday. faith would be standing up for the rejected, even when it’s unpopular… even when the ones doing the rejecting are my brothers and sisters in Christ. and believing that God will give me love for them too.

trust would be saying that God can save me. faith would be stepping out of the boat onto the water and believing that God will hold you up.

matthew 14:31- Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

