Ephesians 4:1-3: “I therefore, as a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the spirit in the bond of peace.”

I keep starting blogs and not finishing them because I feel that I have nothing worth writing going on in my life. This weekend, I was challenged in ways that are worth writing about.

This weekend was a wonderful opportunity to get away from campus and the stress of school and being sick and rainy for 24 hours. I experienced God in a way I haven’t in a long time- I truly believe that I am closer to God when I am immersed in his creation, which, I unfortunately don’t get nearly enough of on campus. I got to do my quiet time by a little pond this morning, and I could feel God’s presence with me in a way I haven’t experienced in far too long.

I read Psalm 78 this morning, which was interesting because I happened to be wearing my staff shirt which has a verse from Psalm 78 on it, but I really liked the Psalm. The Psalmist begins by talking about the importance of remembering where the Israelites have come from and letting the next generation know. He then proceeds to recount their history- telling stories of God’s provision and love, and the Israelites’ ignorance and disobedience. Over and over again throughout their history, God provided for and loved the Israelites despite their disobedience.

After reading the Psalm, I wrote in my journal, “Father, how amazing the grace and mercy you give us! And how often do we ask for so much more? I am so sorry, Lord- Father, make me a servant. I want to live a life worthy of the calling I’ve received- TODAY. But Lord, you know I can’t do that on my own strength. Help me to remember.”

I was thinking of the different discussions we’d had over the course of the weekend, especially a prayer said by one of the leaders asking God to heal us and to remind us that He is bigger and more powerful than anything in our history- any guilt, any hurt, God is stronger. I realized how much I had been holding on to things and not letting Christ heal me and forgive me and show me the mercy he has lavished upon me. And I realized that this was stopping me from doing what God wanted for my life- remembering that God has a plan for me today, tomorrow, and 5 years down the road. But I have a calling TODAY! I’m not just waiting to get to where God has called me, God has called me somewhere right here and right now.

Anyway, after journaling, I was just sort of absent-mindedly thumbing through my Bible, and I found a verse I had scribbled on a post-it I’d been using since camp. I had no idea what it said, so I decided to look it up. It was Ephesians 4:1-3, which I have written at the top of this post. How clearly God wants me to learn this truth today!

The retreat was wonderful. Obviously, my thoughts are still sort of jumbled about the whole thing, but I am so excited about what God is doing in RHCC’s college ministry.

So, may you go- go out! And live in a manner worthy of the calling to which you’ve been called.

Today.

