She got the call today
One out of the gray
And when the smoke cleared
It took her breath away
She said she didn’t believe
It could happen to me
I guess we’re all one phone call
from our knees
We’re gonna get there soon

My mom got in a really big car accident today- the car is destroyed. Which is sad, because that’s the car I learned to drive on, and use most often when I’m home, and the like. I haven’t quite realized that it’s gone forever yet.

Even with the car totaled, I could not feel more blessed today. The other car hit my mom going way over the speed limit, but he hit the right side of the car, so mom only has a few cuts and is pretty shaken up (please pray for her).

She was on her way home from work. I went to work with her today, but I left after lunch because I can’t handle scanning doctors files for more than about 5 hours at a time. If I hadn’t gone home… I’d be dead. Very, very dead. The passenger seat of the car is destroyed- the door is so dented and smushed that we can’t open the glove compartment. The window shattered, as did half of the windshield on that side of the car.

Very, very dead.

I’ve never had a major tragedy in my life- the closest relative I’ve ever had die was my great-grandma when I was 9 years old (and she kind of creeped me out, and I’d only met her a few times). So today… shook me up a little. I almost cried when Robby pointed out that I almost died sort of.

To quote from a wonderful book I just finished reading, “We never feel more alive than when our existence is uncertain.” Tonight, I am celebrating life, celebrating a God who has HUGE plans for me and knew that today wasn’t my time to die. Or my mother’s.

Time to start living up to that. He who has saved my life more times than I can ever imagine deserves everything I can give him and more.

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'”

