It’s been a long time since I’ve read the Chronicles of Narnia, but I think it’s time I reread them. Today in Sunday School an excerpt from “The Last Battle” was discussed, and I found it so relevant and exciting that I thought I’d share with you all.

“The Last Battle,” for those of you who haven’t read it, is an allegorical story of the final battle between good and evil, in which God (and good) comes out victorious. Which is, of course, exactly what will happen someday.

This quote is the very last paragraph of the book. Aslan has just told the Pevensie children that they have died in their earth and now are in this place forever. This place being Lewis’ picture of heaven.

“And as He spoke He no longer looked to them like a lion; but the things that began to happen after that were so great and beautiful that I cannot write them. And for us this is the end of all the stories, and we can most truly say that they all lived happily ever after. But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on forever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”

I like this. It puts into words something that I have difficulty explaining even to myself most of the time. Also, in the preceding few sentences, it was obvious that the children were overjoyed that they got to stay in heaven for eternity- even though that meant leaving the other world behind. In other words, heaven is going to be exciting. And I’m so excited that we have an eternity waiting for us there.

Time for me to start reading đŸ™‚

