So i had dance for the first time since before christmas last night… mannnn i needed to stretch. anyway, i had a headache while i was there and wasnt in the greatest of moods. so i was just kind of going through the motions of the exersizes… i know them pretty well, its my third year in the same class lol (no its not because i stink at it, its because theres no higher level of lyrical at my dance studio) so anyway, i wasn’t paying much attention or trying very hard (i know, shame on me). And my dance teacher, nancy, knew i could be doing better, so she kept telling me to pay attention, or to use my arms, or to stop rushing… and finally she got so exasperated she just shouted “RACHEL! USE YOUR GRACE!” of course everyone laughed, because she had meant to say something to the effect of “be more graceful like i know you can be”. but the way she worded it made me think (and therefor NOT actually pay more attention to dance lol. oh well). i started thinking about the different definitions of grace. so i looked it up when i got home. here’s what the dictionary says (abriged because its LONG)

grace (gr?s) n.
1. Seemingly effortless beauty or charm of movement, form, or proportion.
2. Mercy; clemency.
3. Divine love and protection bestowed freely on people.
4. The state of being protected or sanctified by the favor of God.
5. An excellence or power granted by God.

so while nancy was talking about definition 1, i started to think about definitions 2- 5. how had i been using the “divine love and protection bestowed freely on me” lately? And in definition 5- it says that God’s grace includes the gifts and talents he’s given us- how have i been using those? some days i feel i’ve really used my grace, i’ve tried my best to live for God and to thank him for his many gifts (and i have SO many). but yesterday hadn’t been one of those days, and i was really convicted. i started to think of 2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”. God has given us all the grace we need, but having sufficient grace means it’s there for the taking. am i using the grace God has given me? not as often as i should be, i think.
i think that will be my new years resolution. that and actually working at dance :).

use your grace, rachel.

